Vol. 60, No. 4, 2022 pp. 291



## Professor Andrzej Myśliwski, MD, PhD (1936–2022)



A doctor by education, a scientist and academic teacher of choice at the Medical University of Gdańsk, Poland. He began his career in the Department of Histology and Embryology of the Gdańsk Medical Academy under the supervision of its founder, former professor of the Vilnius University, Stanisław Hiller, fellow of the Rockefeller Foundation. A. Myśliwski received his doctorate (1966) and habilitation (1977) under Professor Stanisław Zawistowski, after whom he took over the chair of the Department of Histology (1989–2007). He served as the Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Medicine (1978–1984).

Professor Andrzej Myśkiwski died on November 2, 2022 at home. He was buried at the Parish Cemetery of St. Brother Albert in Gdańsk (Kokoszki).

Web of Science database lists 116 publications of Professor A. Myśliwski (in years 1971–2016), with a total number of 358 publications (1963–2016) in the bibliographic database of the Medical University of Gdańsk. In the early period of his career he had used histochemical and electron microscopy techniques for the studies of brain vessels, liver and retina. Starting from mid 70-ties of the 20<sup>th</sup> century, Professor A. Myśliwski laid foundations for the development of experimental gerontology in Poland. He pursued studies on the mechanisms of aging of the immune cells, exocrine glands and the liver. Due to his inspiring personality Professor A. Myśliwski was able to recruit students, later his younger co-workers (J. Myśliwska, J. Bigda, R. Dziadziuszko, L. Kaszubowska, Z. Kmiec, P. Trzonkowski, J. Witkowski) who followed his enthusiasm for research. He founded Biology of Aging Commission of the Polish Academy of Sciences and organized many conferences dedicated to the role of age-related factors in the function of cells and organs.

Professor Andrzej Myśliwski will be greatly missed, we offer our sincere condolences to his family, and to his friends and colleagues.

Professor Hieronim Bartel Professor Barbara Bilińska Professor Jerzy Kawiak Professor Zbigniew Kmieć